• Visit Bijagos Islands
    A holiday experience you never will forget!
  • With sunny weather all year round
    Bijagos is the perfect holiday destination


Bijagos archipelago

The Bijagos Islands, are a group of about 88 islands and islets located in the Atlantic Ocean and are part of the African nation of Guinea-Bissau. The Bijagos archipelago was formed from the ancient delta of the Rio Geba and the Rio Grande and spans an area of 2,624 km2 (1,184 sq. miles).

Image from Flickr
bijagos  orangozinho

Only some 20 islands are populated year-round, namely Bubaque which is where the Bijagos administrative capital is situated and is the most populated island, Bolama, Carache, Caravela, Enu, Formosa, Galinhas, João Vieira, Maio, Meneque, Orango, Orangozinho, Ponta, Roxa, Rubane, Soga, Unhacomo, Uno, and Uracane.

There is a high diversity of ecosystems: mangroves with intertidal zones, palm forests, dry and semi-dry forests, secondary and degraded forests, coastal savanna, sand banks and aquatic zones. The archipelago was declared in 1996 a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve--Boloma Bijagós Biosphere Reserve, known for animals including marine turtles, hippopotamus and the southern islands are today a nature reserve.

Bijagos holiday packages and tours

Bijagos is a truly beautiful. We can help you to plan your holiday with everything from hotel reservations, rentals and excursions.

  • Bike rental
  • Scuba diving and diving courses
  • Hotel booking
  • Trekking tours
  • Jeep tours
  • Sport fishing